This 2020 virtual semester has been a whirl wind but we’ve finally made it to our Thanksgiving break! Even though it feels as if we just started November, I blinked my eyes and Thanksgiving is really next week.

I’m not alone right?

Let stop for just a second and remember that mental health is extremely important especially going into this pandemic version of the holidays!

Make it a priority.

I too understand that virtual learning has not been easy. It causes a type of anxiety in your mind of always questioning, “I’m relaxing…SOMETHING MUST BE DUE.” It truly challenges the way we think and procrastinate. I find myself slowly learning to finish assignments early and not the very last second.

This is your sign. Check those assignments!

Get it done because right now it’s time to enjoy the holiday and revitalize so that you can finish this semester out strong. Whether it’s through self-care or by checking up on your list of goals, you have to make good use of this break.

As a mom, my self-care revolves around candles and a hot bath with a 4 year old knocking on the door to tell me our cat would like to take a bath with me.

With Thanksgiving, you could even try a new recipe. I know it may not seem like self-care but actually it’s kind of like a little hobby. Food is love. And to put effort into baking cookies or a cake, it could really give yourself and others a little love.

If you want to relax this break, I suggest not going into the stores.

As a retail worker, I can promise you there is nothing peaceful going on in there at the moment. Order online! Or I suggest going shopping in the early mornings.

You need less stress? Cut out the negativity in your surroundings. Listen to podcasts, call your friends or even call a relative you haven’t spoken to in years. You would make their day and yours.

As a senior student, please read up on the assignments due over the break. I’ve noticed it requires a lot more time than an hour before it’s due on the very last day.

Save yourself the headache. Finishing those assignments will give your more time to revitalize.

Take on this pandemic by using it as a challenge to yourself. How can I make myself better for when break is over?

Make it count.

with love,

Aliyah