Hi there future Warriors!

As a refresher, my job here is to inform you a little about Stan State from my perspective. A student, someone like YOU! I know all about this process and I understand that this can be stressful! Luckily for you, and thankfully for me this is my last semester here so trust me you’re in good hands!

Did you file for financial aid? 

Deadlines are closing in, March 2, 2021. The biggest 1st mistake of mine was missing that deadline.

**Another big one that I missed was getting into the McNairs Scholar Program. No one told me. (well I did ignore all the beautiful signs on campus showcasing to apply oops).**

Check this out, directly from the source itself:

“The Stan State McNair Scholars Program helps prepare students for graduate studies through involvement in research and other scholarly activities. McNair Scholars are first-generation and low-income students and students ethnically underrepresented in graduate school who have demonstrated academic potential and interest in graduate programs.”-https://www.csustan.edu/

Now I’ll tell you one thing, Stan State is short for Diversity “Stan’s” Here. They care about our backgrounds, where we come from, and how we got there.

Lastly, from me and well every senior: JOIN A CLUB!

You have to get the most out of this college experience. This is where you start. Though it’s a pandemic, clubs are still meeting via ZOOM. Hey, there’s nothing wrong with that. I’ve seen virtual paint parties and even just talking with other student’s about everything going on in class. It’s actually really nice.

You don’t have to feel left out! 🙂

We’ve got cultural-based clubs, like the one I’ve been in Black Student Union. Or Stan State’s Mecha! There are fraternities, sororities, and MORE!

Feeling shy? Enjoy teamwork from home? Our school has a student-run newspaper AND radio station working remotely!

Let me know if you want more information on these or other programs here at Stan State.

With love,

Aliyah