The semester is slowly but surely coming to an end. All the steps I’ve made to be where I am today have finally paid off. As a senior, you’re left with many thoughts and questions. “What’s next for me?” That is why I highly recommend writing your own narrative for your destiny NOW. Students can be so caught up with trying to finish college but they forget that the most important part is the learning aspect and preparing to dive into the world as a college graduate. For your last semester, I highly recommend taking a few risks and steps to follow to make sure you come out with the highest advantages.

Speak with your counselor

If you’re like me who used to plan out their semester and do everything themselves. Please, seek help from your advisor or go over your plans with them. I started emailing my advisor from the Stockton Campus with several questions that I couldn’t quite get. Such as, “Is grad school a possibility for me?” Yes, that can be embarrassing to ask but you must take that risk. If you don’t ask, you’ll never know. It doesn’t hurt.

Follow up on your minor

I’m currently minoring in Journalism, but for me, I just decided to take all the necessary classes without filling out the necessary paperwork. (don’t recommend) YES there is paperwork! Your degree progress doesn’t know you’re going for a minor, you must tell them! I probably spent an entire semester trying to submit the right forms, but luckily I had the help of my advisor! Make sure you’re taking the right classes for the minor you’re pursuing. [Side note: you must apply for graduation a semester in advance]

Look at the jobs in your career field

Begin to look at the jobs in your career field? Where do you want to work? These are all questions you should begin to think about. That way, after graduation you’re held up or feeling lost. I would highly recommend attending a resume workshop provided by our very own career center. I truly thought I knew how to create the perfect resume and cover letter UNTIL I had someone critique it and I was completely wrong. I needed help. We all do.

Reaching out for recommendations

On this long journey, if you’ve interned or collaborated on projects, worked within a position at Stanislaus State or anywhere else don’t be afraid to ask for recommendations. For me, it was hard. I do a lot on my own without asking for help, but I’m slowly coming out of that mindset. As a senior make as many friends and connections as possible. Social Networking will guide you to where you need to be. I used to think, “Well, they don’t know me to well” and I would try to talk myself out of asking but if you’ve helped them or received knowledge from them in any way, it doesn’t hurt to ask. The worst they could say is no. If you plan on reaching out to a professor, begin a relationship by emailing constantly throughout your semester. One professor told me to ask for a recommendation at the beginning of the semester that way in the end, they’ll know what to say. But for others, they’re happily willing to help for your future!

Your last semester is extremely important. Use every minute to figure out the steps you want to take after college. One piece of advice from me after going through it is that I couldn’t have done it alone. I did it by emailing profusely, staying on top of important deadlines, and reaching out for help. Ask people in your field, professors, advisors, they’ve been in our shoes and they have the necessary knowledge. In many cases where they didn’t know my answer, they put in the work to find it for me!

Don’t be afraid to ask for help.

With love,

Aliyah