Take a deep breath and listen.

If you have no idea what you are doing, you are not alone. Back in high school if someone told me that this is where I’d be, I would laugh in disbelief.

See that’s thing, I didn’t have a mentor growing up or anyone with college experience in my life. I’m just like you. Researching just out of my curiosity for what could be ahead of me.

As a transfer student from San Joaquin Delta College in Stockton, I’ve realized that it’s possible to bloom where no one would give daylight. And as a mother of a 4 year old boy, I realized the college experience is within reach for everyone.

Wherever you are right now, you are capable.

I thought I would be graduating college at 22. This is my senior year and I’m turning 25. Let’s get this out the way now because I need you to know that each person goes at their own pace through this experience. Life happens! We move forward because we only get one. No rushing or cutsies. 

My job here is to give you helpful tips and insight to what I’ve learned along the way. And I myself am still learning.

One day at a time.

Although times are unknown at the moment, remember that knowledge is power. It’s the one thing that can’t be taken from you.

With love,

Aliyah