As you decide whether Stan State is the right path for your desired career, take on the challenge by asking LOTS of questions. You might be fresh out of high school or a transfer student like me, regardless this will be your new home. So let’s make you feel comfortable with the right knowledge to guide you on your journey. Here are my answers to questions you should be asking.

How hard is it to register for classes?

Absolutely easy. As soon as you click enroll (within the time frame of your registration date) you click the term you’d like to check out. I always use the search engine which will allow me to click my major/subject and that’ll take me to all available classes. You can even specify which days you’re looking for classes for. Example: You can pick open Math classes specifically for Fridays.

Helpful Tip:  The best part about picking classes is that you can do it prior to your registration date by keeping them in your shopping cart. Once it’s your date to enroll, you click shopping cart and your class is there waiting for you to enroll if it’s still available! This will save you time, trust me.

What are some club and activities for students?

There are PLENTY of clubs to join on campus culturally, fraternities/sororities and even clubs based on majors! I would honestly recommend joining a club on campus. As a reporter for our very own Stan State student newspaper, I stumbled into one of the Black Student Union meetings. I sat in and they literally were discussing what changes should be made on campus and what it’s like being a first generation student. I realized that I wasn’t alone in my experience. There are others just like you!

If you love showing school spirit and loved leadership ASI (Associated Students Inc.) https://www.csustan.edu/asi-sc

How long will it take for me to finish?

This question is huge. It made a huge impact when I attended my very first orientation at Stan State. You ask this question to your counselor/advisor and they will literally write you a road map of classes you need to take each semester. Whether it be in four years or if you’re a transfer student – two years. Because I followed the road map of my first semester at Stan State, I knocked out the key core classes of my major! Smartest thing that I’ve done.

Bonus Question: Are there Academic Support Services for a student like me?

YEEESSS! Stan State has an Academic Success Center. What I love about this school is the resources. Even though, I found out about majority of resources by curiously walking around campus, I truly would not have made it without them.

Example Programs: Freshman Success Program, Educational Opportunity Program (A big one) and even the McNair Scholars Program (this one I wish I knew sooner!!) Here’s the helpful link: https://www.csustan.edu/ASC

Don’t be afraid to ask questions. If you have questions for me, drop a comment below. I’ve been around and back again I’ve got you!

With love,

Aliyah