You’re probably wondering what is it like going to Stan State during a pandemic? Sit back, and read-along as I break down my days as a Communication major at Stan State.

I’m currently taking four classes for my last semester here. As a communication major, I’m enrolled in-

  1. Radio Laboratory for 2nd-semester students with Dr. Greg Jacquay (An attentive fun teacher and willing to take student feedback)
  2. Public Relation Campaigns with Dr. Veronica Dawson, (Very passionate about PR and communication internships!)
  3. Technology and Communication with Dr. Meikuan Huang, (Sweet professor who is into helping students make their own websites)
  4. And lastly Senior Capstone with Dr. Vickie Harvey. (Don’t believe what people say, She is tough on you but she truly cares about making you a stronger communicator. Every week, she makes us take a Scout oath that we will ask her questions if we need her!)

Now that you know my workload, here’s how my days go.

First things first, COFFFFEE! NOW!

No seriously, sometimes having class in your bedroom or corner space you get distracted, I need coffee to keep me focused! I make sure I’ve got my cup of joe next to me, IF and only IF I have breakfast I make sure to eat at least something to keep me going.

Next up, where’s my laptop (your life-line) I make sure to charge this bad boy every night. Keep in mind last year was the very first year I bought my laptop, before that I was in the library for every paper/assignment. I don’t know how I did it but I did.

I’ve got my laptop, check! As I’m logging into Canvas (our school’s online website where all our courses are) I immediately check the calendar!

What’s due today?

The calendar is highlighted with assignments/classwork due for each class on all the days of that month. Basically a planner.

I finish the homework for that day and if there looks like there are assignments I can do to finish out the week early, I take it!

Today for Public Relation Campaigns, I had a meeting with my entire group. Side note: Group work is essential to communication majors during this time. I’ve never worked in so many groups as I have during this pandemic.

But it’s actually really helpful. Once we get into groups and meet on Zoom, we’re like “I’m so happy we’re in this together!!” It feels good to know you’re not alone right?

For my night class via Zoom at 6pm, Dr. Harvey asks us “Did anyone eat dinner yet?” As we all laugh, I noticed the professors really make it enjoyable during this hard time for everyone.

There’s no harm in showing your face on Zoom, professors seem to enjoy seeing our faces. One admitted that it made it easier for them. I never showed my face until I opened my camera one night and a professor really acknowledged me in a good way (not on the spot).

As I’m logging off, I take one last peek into tomorrow’s work-load. Or next week, making sure to keep checking my laptop and school email for updates.

See, that wasn’t too bad!

So, now that you know a little about the experience, let me know if you want to know more!

What Communication teachers should I take? What electives? Don’t be shy.

With love,

Aliyah